Prof. Heinz Receives the Annual Great Teacher Award

April 06, 2007

Professor Tony F. Heinz, David M. Rickey Professor of Optical Communications, and chair, Department of Electrical Engineering, has been selected by the Society of Columbia Graduates to receive the annual Great Teacher Award.

The entire faculty and staff of the Electrical Engineering Department is very pleased to have Professor Heinz join the company of previous faculty members in the department who have been recognized by the annual Great Teacher Award. These great teachers date back to Professor Howard Armstrong, who received the first award in 1949, and include professors Dimitris Anastassiou, Mischa Schwartz, Amiya Sen, Yannis Tsividis, and Omar Wing.