Department of Electrical Engineering - Columbia University

[SEAS logo]

ELEN E4810 - Summer 2014

DIGITAL SIGNAL PROCESSING

Home page

Course outline

Matlab scripts

Problem sets

Projects

Exams

Columbia Courseworks (Discussion Board)

Problem sets

This page will be updated each week to list the homework assignments for that week. Unless otherwise specified, problems are from the end-of-chapter sections in Mitra (3rd edition).

# Date assigned Problems Date due Solutions
1 Wed 2014-05-28 2.2, 2.5 (a), (c), (e), (g), 2.7 (a), (b), (c), 2.12, 2.13, 2.31,
Matlab: M 2.3 (no need to repeat theoretical part from 2.31), M 2.4
(for this week, I have scanned in the questions)
Wed 2014-06-04
2 Wed 2014-06-04 2.41, 2.49, 2.52, 2.66 part (a) only.
Verify (or illustrate) the results of 2.41, 2.49 and 2.66 (a) in Matlab,
after working them out by hand first.
(here are the questions scanned in again)
Wed 2014-06-11
3 Wed 2014-06-11 2.68, this LCCDE question, 2.75, 2.90 and illustrate in Matlab (for 2.90 only).
(scanned questions; see ps1 for Q2.5 sequences)
Wed 2014-06-18
4 Wed 2016-06-18 3.19 (a), (b) and (e), 3.24 (c) and (d), 3.30, 5.8, 5.15,
M 3.2 for (a), (b) and (e) (here is Program 3_1), M 5.2, M 5.3
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-06-25
5 Wed 2014-06-25 6.1, 6.5, 6.7, 6.20, M 6.1 (here is Program 6_1 which relies on factorize.m)
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-07-02
6 Wed 2014-07-02 3.46 and sketch each of the responses; 3.65; 3.79; M 3.8
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-07-09
7 Wed 2014-07-09 3.75, 7.5, 7.16, 7.28, 7.61 (the second sentence should read "Are the following filters (composed of cascades of the above filters) linear phase?" i.e. the question is whether they are linear phase or not), M 7.12 (a notch filter is a bandstop filter)
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-07-23
8 Wed 2014-07-23 7.57, 7.65 (and verify in Matlab), 7.70 8.5, M 8.2.
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-07-30
9 Mon 2014-07-28 4.26, M 4.4 (eq. 4.54 in Mitra3 appears as A.27 in Mitra4), 4.31, M 4.5 (here is Program 4_4)
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-08-06
10 Wed 2014-08-06 9.11, 9.23, M 9.1
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-08-13
11 Wed 2014-08-13 10.36, M 10.10, M 10.23, 11.21, 11.24
(scanned questions)
Wed 2014-08-20

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.
Dan Ellis <dpwe@ee.columbia.edu>
Last updated: Tue Jun 03 03:24:25 PM EDT 2014